• April 27, 2017, 03:04:31 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.  (Read 2874 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« on: April 09, 2017, 07:27:32 PM »
I Have had a problem determining and or defining the "AREA WIDTH".
I just cant get past this issue to create the gcode. The lines are always outside the object except when area width is "0"

I have deleted all my previous attempts, there not working.

Equipment: Win XP, -3040 Chinese CNC,  parallel port connection and older computer.
All purchased to work with the 3040cnc, then they got smart and converted to USB and made things simpler on newer machines.
it is what it is.
I need help creating a usable SVG.  DFX. or whatever file to properly convert to Gcode to mill one object with 5 parts. I have been doing something wrong and I need to correct the problem.
I have followed the list above enough without success.

Is there a complete step by step from a owner operator SVG or DXF, Not an image, to gcode. I have tried following the image conversion and eliminating the image conversion steps to no end.
I'm not doing it again, until I figure this out.

I'm a little frustrated with this. It can't be this complex, is it?

I can draw my design in 2 minutes now without thinking anymore, Iv'e made it to many times.

I have 1 design and 1 project and no Idea why I can't get it working correctly with all the online tutorials.
Are their settings in inkscape I'm missing?
Doc Properties are set "inch".
Do the conversions work better with MM insted of IN.
If anyone would like to help me past this, Id'e be most happy :2tu:.
Not sure this is the right place for this. so move me if needed Brynn

Created on inkscape.
Untitled.jpg
*Untitled.jpg
(86.01 kB . 665x660)
(viewed 21 times)

I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline brynn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 02:50:01 PM »
I wish I could help you SO MUCH!

I don't have a fast answer for you.  If you wanted to spend some time, to help me understand certain things, there's a chance that I might see the answer.  But there's a good chance we'll end up with both of us not knowing what to do.  However, I'm willing to try.

Which tutorials have you followed?

You mentioned "image conversion".  Do you mean using auto trace?  Or did you manually trace?  I'd be glad to check out your SVG file, if you like.  If so, you mentioned needing gcode to mill 5 parts.  I would need to know which parts are which, because your image looks like it has more than 5 objects.

You mentioned following "the list above".  I'm not clear what that means.  I did notice that you posted this in a new topic, even though it sounds like part of the other topic you posted recently.  That's not a huge problem, but let me know if the forum is malfunctioning.

So the list is what you wrote in this message, right?  https://www.inkscapecuttingdesign.com/smf/index.php?topic=1308.msg7160#msg7160  Where did that list come from?

I've started working my way through the list.  I mean with a drawing in Inkscape - just a simple star.   But I see the Gcode Tools > Area dialog has several tabs.  Is that where you're stuck, not knowing what to set in that dialog?  If you know what to set, tell me, and I'll keep working through the list.

For units, I would keep the same units everywhere.  Set Inkscape to whatever units you're going to use in all the dialogs and with the machines.  With the recent new version 0.92.x there is a new DPI.  So if you open a drawing that you made with an older version of Inkscape, you'll need to scale it, to make sure it's the right size.  I seem to recall you started this project some time ago.  So this might be an issue to fix.  Although as far as making a test run, I don't think the DPI change would prevent getting the gcode.  It's just you would end up with either a little bit larger or a little bit smaller result.  (I keep forgetting which way it goes.)

I notice in your signature you've ruled out problems with certain hardware.  Have you ruled it out by being able to use the hardware successfully with other projects?  I would consider that to be stronger evidence, than if you performed some kind of electronic diagnostic on the machines.

And finally, is the problem that you aren't getting any gcode?  Or you're getting gcode, but it's not correct?  Or that you're stuck somewhere in the list of steps?

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 08:48:22 AM »
Last line and deleted the complete message  :f5:

Image conversion, is converting my new SVG image on version 0.92.x to gcode.

I do generate Gcode, but it does not work correctly in Mach3.

The list I have been following is created from here Start stop until I had all the clicks down up to test the code, then he runs it on a shapco machine.
scotlandsimon
https://www.youtube.com/user/scotlandsimon
 
I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2017, 08:50:00 AM »
Images.
Calculating surface are with inkscape
*Area processing tutorial.pdf
(673.33 kB - downloaded 9 times)


I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2017, 08:58:29 AM »
Rotor parts;1- large circle, 1-small circle, 10 spoke cutout, 36 squares
Ill stick with this design until I sort this problem.
New document properties start file.JPG
*New document properties start file.JPG
(177.76 kB . 1280x1024)
(viewed 10 times)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 06:49:46 AM by AAronvb »
I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2017, 09:03:20 AM »
Area before
Area before.jpg
*Area before.jpg
(266.69 kB . 1280x1024)
(viewed 13 times)

I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2017, 09:04:50 AM »
Area after
Area results.jpg
*Area results.jpg
(276.42 kB . 1280x1024)
(viewed 13 times)

I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2017, 09:13:51 AM »
gcode fail;
AVB gcode image fail.JPG
*AVB gcode image fail.JPG
(200.08 kB . 1280x1024)
(viewed 10 times)

11 steps to gcode
11 steps to Gcode Inkscape.jpg
*11 steps to Gcode Inkscape.jpg
(281.43 kB . 1280x1024)
(viewed 10 times)

Orientation points

The Area Input seems to be the biggest fail right now.
So here is a plan,
I'll post, start to finish, one screen shot at a time and figure out where I'm off track.

AAron
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 06:54:13 AM by AAronvb »
I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline brynn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2017, 12:14:18 PM »
Holy crap!  I can see why you're lost.

The first place I'm stuck is the Area Processing Tutorial.pdf that you provided.

In step 6, it says

Quote
Go to Extensions -> Gcode tools ...
Fill in Tool diameter in the Preferences tab

There is no extension called "Fill" or "Tool diameter" or "preferences"

Even if I read a little further along

Quote
Then go to Area tab, and fill in Area radius.

and choose the Area extension, which does actually have an Area tab, there is no such field as "Area Radius".

There is Area Width.  But most people think of a width as twice the radius.  So do I find the radius (per instructions in the PDF) and multiply by 2?  Or does "Area Radius" really mean "Area Width"?

And then, what to do with the instructions to "fill in tool diameter in preferences"?

As it turns out, there is a Preferences tab in the Area dialog.  But it has no field for tool diameter.

That's absolutely the worst tutorial I've ever seen!  And I've seen a LOT of tutorials!

Since it looks like that tutorial came from the Russian forum, if it were me, I'd go back to them, and ask for clarity.

Don't be intimidated.  Just say 'your tutorial  says "this", but there is no "this"'.  Well, you know what I mean, right?  But don't be intimidated.  If you want, I'll post for you.

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2017, 06:47:23 AM »
I know that this is being used successfully to create gcode and mill projects.
 Almost every tutorial I have found starts with an image and passes right over Area setting with little to no explanation.
I am also using Gcode Version 1.7 not 1.4 and I know the Gcode program file morphed into a more usable program without new - updated tutorials with the new categories not listed in Ver. 1.4 ...

The bit size is, set with the Fill and Stroke-"Stroke Style", bit size .125 in., at least that's the consensus on multiple videos showing how to set bit size with inkscape.
-
I knew I was not that computer illiterate to not be able to follow instructions.
 
Clarification, I would appreciate you asking, mainly because of the clarity you provide when asking questions and giving response. 
I seem to miss the complete question and only get a partial answer and more questions.

I've been a real burnout this last month, disassembling, moving  and rebuilding a farm is a real work out.

This has always been my favorite explanation of setting the AREA :hh:.

""6. Now we have a path of which area we want to cut.
Next we need to calculate paths that will cover the area (these paths will be the cutter's trajectory).
Go to Extensions -> Gcode tools ...
Fill in Tool diameter in the Preferences tab
Then go to Area tab, and fill in Area radius. What is Area radius or how can it been calculated?
First of all Area radius must be in px (pixels) no mater which units you have been selected!
There some ways to calculate Area radius:
The easies way is: find the thickest part of the path and measure it by eye (Joke)
The second easies way is: find the thickest part of the path and measure it with Bizier tool. When you draw a
path with the Bizier tool status bar shows it last segment length.
The hardest way is: convert path to dynamic offset (Ctlr+J), then press F2 and move the control point to make
your path disappear. Then press Ctrl+Shif+X to open XML editor and find there inkscape:radius parameter, it's
value is the exact value that you'll need
So anyway fill in Area radius.
Choose Calculate Area curves at the bottom and press Apply.""
I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline brynn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2017, 11:54:27 AM »
Ok, after much difficulty logging in (I finally had to use IE - Firefox was blocking me for some security reason, which that site seems packed with security issues).  I made the post:  http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=35&p=353572&sid=9150e7e05d4fae94fa9630033e89031d#p353572

So  :xf1:  and we'll see what they can tell us  :)

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2017, 07:46:14 AM »
Thanks Brynn.  :xf1:
I will keep an eye on this.

The difference in browsers made a real difference in what was stated.
I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline AAronvb

  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • OS:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 49.0.2623.112 Chrome 49.0.2623.112
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2017, 09:27:10 AM »
I found this tutorial, Calculate a surface area with Inkscape
http://labellenote.fr/articles.php?lng=en&pg=273
I'm trying it to see if I can get anywhere.

""In the following exemple, it is not a string instrument, but a Cajòn (percussion box), which is supposed to have, according to the plan, a circular sound-hole with a 12 cm diameter.
In my case, I didn't want to have a circular sound-hole, but something more funny, and I went for a footprint shape.
Obviously, the total surface of the holes composing the footprints must be equivalent to a 12cm disk.
1.Calculate the surface that we need to respect  : 12 cm diameter = 113.1 cm². ""



Area Width by the 2 definitions below is a measurement of complete area (LxW) and across the surface at it's widest point, in my case it should be 9 inches, but this also does not work.

Area
ar·e·a
ˈerēə/
noun
1.
a region or part of a town, a country, or the world.
"rural areas of New Jersey"
synonyms:   district, region, zone, sector, quarter, precinct; More
2.
The extent or measurement of a surface or piece of land.
"the area of a triangle"
synonyms:   expanse, extent, size, scope, compass; More


Width
widTH,witTH/Submit
noun
The measurement or extent of something from side to side.
"the yard was about seven feet in width"
synonyms:   breadth, broadness, wideness, thickness, span, diameter, girth
"the width of the river"
a piece of something at its full extent from side to side.
"a single width of hardboard"
the sideways extent of a swimming pool as a measure of the distance swum.

screen shots coming.
I have confirmed that, I do not have a Mach3 issue, works great.
 I have confirmed that, I do not have a 3040 cnc problem, works great.
I do  have a problem converting my drawing to gcode with inkscape.

??Area width??

Offline brynn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2017, 01:19:40 PM »
Oh yeah, I was aware of the Measure extension, which can find the area.  But it seems like you'd have to use the Gcode extension, to get the cutting lines.  Because the Measure extension will just give the area -- no cutting lines.

Actually, now that I look more closely at that thread in the cnc-club forum, the last several questions posted there have not been answered.  The last 11 questions have not been answered.  It doesn't look like they pay any attention to it anymore.  The last time a question was answered, was over a year ago.  I might try to PM someone, if it's allowed (I'm not sure, and I don't have IE open at the moment).

I think I'll take another look at your project later today.  Maybe do some more trial and error.  Just using some random numbers, I was able to get reasonable looking cutting lines, the other day.  Not precise for your design, but just for a simple star.  But if I can figure out which values go in which field, then we can plug in the values for your design.

Offline brynn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2017, 05:35:14 PM »
I might have just had a brilliant idea  :f5:  Well I didn't have it all by myself.  I searched that topic for "area", and found this reply:  http://www.cnc-club.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=35&p=11543&hilit=area#p11543.  It's from 2011, so it probably pertains to an earlier version of the gcode tools, or maybe even a development version.  But there, he's explaining how to make the offset lines (which I assume are the cutting lines).

So I had a thought.  What if we created our own offset lines?  Then it doesn't matter where we put the "Area Radius" or what is "Area Width" or everything in Step 6.  I think the whole reason for Step 6 is to create those offset lines.

Oh, yeah, yeah!  I went back to the list, where the calculating the area is step....well it's also step 6, but it's a different tutorial.  So after that step 6, step 7 is to open takes you through ungrouping the offset paths and getting them ready.

And then after that, step 10 is to open Gcodetools > Path to Gcode.  When I opened it, I noticed that the 3 tabs in that dialog are absolutely identical to the last 3 tabs of the Area dialog.  So I think the first 3 tabs of the Area dialog are for making those offset paths, and the last 3 tabs, which are the same as Path to Gcode, are for creating and outputting the gcode.

So what I'm thinking is to forget about the Area extension dialog completely.  Make your own offset paths, and after they are ready, go to Path to Gcode dialog and enter whatever you need there, and it will create the gcode.

I'm going to work on an example of my own, then I'll show you what I did.  I'm not sure if I will be able to produce gcode, only because I don't know what settings you have on your machines, which the Path to Gcode dialog needs.  But I might guess, since it's just for practice.  I'll post again shortly  :)
« Last Edit: April 23, 2017, 08:45:31 PM by brynn »

Offline brynn

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 52.0 Firefox 52.0
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Steps to creating gcode from svg drawing.
« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2017, 07:42:23 PM »
Success!!

I think I've got it.  Here's what I did and results (although of course I have no wood and no machine to cut it).  But I got an NGC file (the gcode) and a log file!

1 -- Extensions menu > Gcodetools > Orientation Points
2 -- Extensions menu > Gcodetools > Tools Library > cylinder

3 -- I drew my own offset paths.  Since the tool diameter is 10, and I thought that meant 10 pixels, but it probably means 10mm, I drew offset paths 10 px apart.  But since there was some mention of overlap somewhere, I made the offset paths 9.5 px apart.  It's a bit of a tedious process, and I can see why they tried to automate it with the first 3 Area dialog tabs.

  • Select path
  • Duplicate
  • I'm not sure if this is necessary, but since the Area dialog was making the offsets this way, I made mine this way -- set width to 0.3 px and set color to #999999ff
  • Dynamic Offset - drag approx distance
  • Open XML Editor, locate "inkscape:radius" on the right side and set that number to the offset distance you want, in the section below-right (the only other way I know to set a specific distance, is to set up a grid or guides or something, and use snapping) (I can give you detailed steps for that, if you want to do it that way) (although it might be hard to do if you don't have any perfectly horizontal or vertical paths)
  • Object to Path
  • Repeat #2 through #6 until you have all the offset lines you need
  • Make sure they all got converted to paths, then select all > Path menu > Combine

Here's what it looks like at this point:

gcodetest1.png
*gcodetest1.png
(92.11 kB . 679x510)
(viewed 5 times)


SVG file:
*gcode-test1.svg
(71.66 kB - downloaded 1 times)


4 -- Extensions menu > Gcodetools > Path to Gcode

Path to Gcode tab
 -- Biarc Interpolation Tolerance - I left it as it was, which is 1.00000
 -- Maximum Splitting Depth - don't know for sure what this is, but based on vague understanding, I changed from  4 to 2
 -- Cutting Order - Subpath by Subpath  (if I didn't Combine the outset paths above, I think I would choose Path by Path -- no clue what "Pass by Pass" means)
 -- Depth Function - d

Options tab
 -- Scale along Z axis - I left it set at 1.00000
 -- Offset along Z axis - I left it set at 0.00000
 -- Select all paths if nothing is selected (since I wasn't sure what to select, I checked this box and let Inkscape select what it needs)
 -- Minimum Arc Radius - I left it at whatever it was, which was either 0.05000 or -0.05000 (sorry I don't remember)
 -- Comment Gcode - I left it blank
 -- Get additional comments - I left it unchecked

Preferences tab
 -- File - I entered a name for the file, with .ngc on the end
 -- Directory - I entered the folder where I wanted the gcode file to be saved
 -- Z safe height - I left it as it was 5.00000
 -- Units - mm
 -- Post-processor - I left it at None
 -- Additional post processing - I left it blank
 -- Generate log file - checked
 -- Path to log file - I entered the path where I wanted to save the log file

Click Apply

Wait several seconds.  And here's what it looks like now

gcodetest2.png
*gcodetest2.png
(193.72 kB . 687x527)
(viewed 5 times)


SVG file
*gcode-test2.svg
(1397.46 kB - downloaded 1 times)


Close up

gcodetest3.png
*gcodetest3.png
(76.43 kB . 1093x413)
(viewed 5 times)


I'm not sure what any of those colors or arrows actually mean.  But if you notice those places where there are a few arrows on one spot.  It's because there are more than one node there.  After using the Path Offsets, you have to do a good deal of cleanup, because it does sometimes put anything between 2, and something like 20 nodes on one spot, or it creates some kind of weird extra subpaths, sometimes. 

Clearly I didn't get everything cleaned up.  So be sure it's all cleaned up and there aren't any random extra subpaths here and there. And for this drawing, make sure all the nodes are smooth, except for those areas that form a v-shape.

In some places  some of the arrows are actually pointing towards each other.  I think it means that there's a tiny loop in the place where a lot of nodes are on top of each other, but I'm not sure.  Or maybe it's because of being corner nodes where they should be smooth.  Or maybe both.  Or maybe the path somehow got broken there??

And here's the NGC file.  I'm not sure if I can upload the log file, since it has no extension.  I guess I could just make it a text file though.

*gcode-test1.ngc
(139.82 kB - downloaded 1 times)


*logfile.txt
(362.49 kB - downloaded 1 times)


Ok, so you can see that I made it so that the design (very inspirational blob shape, lol) would be proud, and the wood is cut away around it, because that's at least part of what you're doing, although I'm not sure if all of your project is that way.

I don't know if this would work on your machine.  But I've heard of people who were able to switch out the wood cutting blade for a pen or pencil, and run their file so that it draws on paper for the first test.  So you could use my file for that as a test. 

Although, maybe not, since I used pixels instead of mm.  That probably will throw everying off....  Although on the other hand, it's just a blob anyway.  Maybe measurement isn't all that important for a first try?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2017, 08:57:40 PM by brynn »