• November 18, 2017, 06:17:04 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Worldmap SVG - Path data  (Read 993 times)

Offline Dubey

Worldmap SVG - Path data
« on: May 27, 2017, 05:18:43 AM »
Hello everyone

I have come here with a lot of hope so would really be grateful if anyone could help me out. I am very new to Inkscape and SVG’s as well in fact but looking to get some information for getting a task done.

So basically I have a worldmap svg that has borders of different countries. When I edit that svg using a text editor (or the XML editor in Inkscape), I can see a “<g><path d="M 680.05 528.24C 680.05 527.48 681.35 526 ..</g></path>” inside it. I believe this is the path data that displays all the borders. On using the path tool in Inkscape and clicking on the map, I can see the full path showing (see screenshot attached).
Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 11.42.47.png
*Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 11.42.47.png
(315.65 kB . 1796x1020)
(viewed 78 times)

All I am looking to do is get path data (“<g><path d="M ..</g></path>”) only for a selected country within this map, so I could highlight it with a different color (with the help of CSS) and use it on the web.

Apologies if it doesn’t make a lot of sense but please let me know if I need to provide any more information. Once again, any help will be very much appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

Offline brynn

• Administrator
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Worldmap SVG - Path data
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2017, 01:38:39 PM »
Welcome to the forum!

It makes sense up to a point.  And after that, editing the SVG in a text editor, and using CSS, is over my head.  I understand the concept, and have been toying with trying it myself someday.  But never having done it, I couldn't offer many suggestions or warn about pitfalls.