• June 26, 2019, 01:07:42 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

The Future of this Forum:

The Inkscape Project will open its first official forum, on the Inkscape website, this August (2019). (Address/link will be provided at that time.) When that happens, new registrations will no longer be allowed in this forum and Inkscape support will be provided in the new forum. This forum will still be open for a while, so that existing topics can be finished, and existing users can have access to their contents. But all potential new members should register on the Inkscape website, and post their questions in the new forum, starting in August. If you have any questions or comments, you can post them here.

Since there haven't been any new messages for so long, and no one has ever replied to this message of mine I'm considering closing this forum entirely, in approx 6 months. If anyone has any comments about that, please feel free to post them.

-- brynn


Author Topic: having problems with using inkscape to a gcc plotter/cutter  (Read 7162 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kevin white

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1
having problems with using inkscape to a gcc plotter/cutter
« on: February 10, 2013, 08:10:25 AM »
hi, everyone, didn't now which section to post ?

could someone please help, i would like to use inkscape for sending images to my gcc expert 24 plotter/ cutter but can't get it to work.

will work when using corel draw x6, but was hoping not having to spend £400.00 to get it when only using for limited stencil cutting for airbrushing.

thank you

kevin
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline newbiecat

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 93
Re: having problems with using inkscape to a gcc plotter/cut
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 01:30:53 AM »
Morning

With the cutters I am used to , I cannot send direct from Inkscape to the cutter - it needs to go through another piece of software - I have used both Signcut and SCAL (sure cuts a lot).- however since you show yours as a plotter/cutter - if it can be sent to plot - then why not cut?   Have you managed to plot something direct from Inkscape ?   If not was there software which came with the machine - something about Great Cut comes to my brain - sorry dont remember where I read that.  
My thoughts would be that your plotter may not support the svg file format - if so I suspect you will need to save it to a different format - I would suggest looking to where you bought your machine or a dedication forum for your type of cutter

sorry cant be more helpful
Pandora
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Win 7, Inkscape .47, 18" Silver Bullet,(love the speed)
Craft Artist Professional, Photoshop CS2, SCAL 3. ?? latest, still have my cricut - need to find a new home for it

Offline Inkspots

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 71
Re: having problems with using inkscape to a gcc plotter/cut
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 02:52:42 AM »
Hi Kevin,
Are you using the Inkcut extension?
The more experienced forum members may have an easier time helping you
if you can tell us your operating system, and the method your using to try
and cut from Inkscape.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Linux Mint 13,Cinnamon, I don\'t own a cutter, Inkscape 0.48.4r,The gimp, FontForge, blender 3d, LibreOffice

Offline tallpat

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1
Re: having problems with using inkscape to a gcc plotter/cut
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2013, 06:44:49 PM »
New forum member here, howdy all!  I currently have my vinyl cutter setup to cut directly from Inkscape using the Inkcut extension.  I am currently running Ubuntu (Quantal) but I seem to recall getting the Inkcut extension to work with Windows7 as well.

If I remember correctly, to get it running under Windows, I had to install a windows version of python, unzip the tar.gz file using a program like 7-zip, then copy the uncompressed folder into the extensions folder under Inkscape.  From there, configuring the cutter pretty much followed the directions given at the Inkcut site.

I'd be willing to boot back up into Windows to reconfirm the procedure if you need me to elaborate on any of the steps...
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline jrijri

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10
Re: having problems with using inkscape to a gcc plotter/cut
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2014, 02:05:28 PM »
Quote from: "Inkspots"
Hi Kevin,
Are you using the Inkcut extension?
The more experienced forum members may have an easier time helping you
if you can tell us your operating system, and the method your using to try
and cut from Inkscape.

I'm just curious; how do you send your Inkscape files to your cutter? I'm usin Linux too, this is why I'm asking.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Inkscape 0.48, Linux Mint 64-bit, Silhouette Cameo, Tux Plot 3.3 experimental