• November 21, 2017, 01:58:02 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: NEWBIE-I bit off more than I could chew for first nonpersonal project  (Read 2167 times)

Offline RaissaLLeJ

• Sr. Newbie
Hi!  I am new to using Inkscape, and I'm in the process of learning all the ins and outs.  I was asked to do a project for a very small business and I am having a very hard time getting this jpg file converted to a "cuttable" svg.  I started with one image and worked until 3am trying to get usable layers, but NOTHING worked.  I had them choose another image to see if maybe it would be a little easier, but the second image is giving me the same problems.  I have finally deduced that there is entirely too much shading in both images for a Newbie like me to tackle.  Would anyone be willing to try their hand at it for me?  :???: :f5:  (attached is the first image they chose, I would really like to get this one "cuttable" if possible)

Offline brynn

• Administrator
    • Inkscape Community
Re: NEWBIE-I bit off more than I could chew for first nonpersonal project
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 11:09:08 PM »
Welcome to the forum!

Not sure if you forgot the attachment, or if it just didn't work right?  Of course you wouldn't have know that, because of the forum moderation.  Don't worry -- it's just the first 2 messages.  You're halfway there!

• Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit

Offline RaissaLLeJ

• Sr. Newbie
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 07:41:48 AM »
BigBoyzCrawfish.jpg
*BigBoyzCrawfish.jpg
(78.83 kB . 533x500)
(viewed 57 times)

Thank you!  I didn't even notice that it was not attached!

Offline HeatherM

• Original Member
    • http://imagesbyheatherm.wordpress.com/
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 10:16:21 AM »
That image isn't going to work well for tracing since it does have too much shading.  You could use the Bezier tool to create lines for cutting. Is this going to be vinyl?
Heather
http://imagesbyheatherm.wordpress.com/