• June 26, 2019, 04:51:49 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

The Future of this Forum:

The Inkscape Project will open its first official forum, on the Inkscape website, this August (2019). (Address/link will be provided at that time.) When that happens, new registrations will no longer be allowed in this forum and Inkscape support will be provided in the new forum. This forum will still be open for a while, so that existing topics can be finished, and existing users can have access to their contents. But all potential new members should register on the Inkscape website, and post their questions in the new forum, starting in August. If you have any questions or comments, you can post them here.

Since there haven't been any new messages for so long, and no one has ever replied to this message of mine I'm considering closing this forum entirely, in approx 6 months. If anyone has any comments about that, please feel free to post them.

-- brynn


Author Topic: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?  (Read 6126 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Debbiedw

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10
How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« on: September 09, 2010, 03:58:26 PM »
How do you import more fonts and dingbats into inkscape?
I have quite abit of fonts and dings I'd like to use.
Thank you
Debbie
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline jobab

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: 00
    • http://www.cuttingedgecraft.net.au
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2010, 04:30:56 PM »
Hi Debbie
I am pretty sure if you install the font or dingbat on your computer it should automatically open otherwise I think sol long as you have the font/dingbat file open on your computer it should open in inkscape.

Cheers
Jo
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://cuttingedgecraft.blogspot.com/
Cougar and inkscape user.

Offline PapaSue

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
    • http://creationsbypapasue.blogspot.com
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2010, 04:34:31 PM »
Debbie,

You don't say what your computer OS system is so a specific answer is a bit different.

But if you have all of your fonts where they are supposed to be for your system, then they are available to Inkscape.

When you click on the A on the left side of your Inkscape mat menu a box comes up with a down arrow indicating that it is a list.  Click to open the list and select the font you want to use.  Move over a bit and see the size 144 is the biggest and you can start there.

Hope this helps.

« Last Edit: August 25, 2015, 07:54:46 PM by brynn »
Susan
http://creationsbypapasue.blogspot.com/
OLDER:  http://papasuecreative.blogspot.com (blog deleted)
Learn, Grow, Create, Share
Macintosh, Mavericks, Inkscape 0.91, eClips1, eCAL2.013

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2010, 08:12:52 PM »
Hi Debbie

Or you could click on the Letter T on the top tool bar, which will bring up a text viewing box where you can scroll through all your TTF fonts that you have installed on your PC; you can expand the box by dragging down the bottom of the text box as I did to view the fonts at 144.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline Debbiedw

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2010, 10:19:22 PM »
I am sorry, I am on windows XP.
I have installed the fonts to the font folder in the control panel, but not all of them show up in inkscape.
So I really don't know what is wrong.
Any ideas?
Thanks,
Debbie
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2010, 08:03:40 AM »
Hi Debbie

From what I can gather you can't use Open Type fonts in Inkscape, but if you have MS Word on your PC then all the open type fonts show up so what I do is type the letter or letters that I want and do a screen print and save as a jpeg and import it into Inkscape.

Remember "Where there's a will, there's a way" :)  :)  :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline HeatherM

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Country: 00
    • http://imagesbyheatherm.wordpress.com/
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2010, 08:26:31 AM »
Open type fonts do work in Inkscape, but sometimes there are fonts that just don't work in Ink (the wingding and webding fonts are known to not work).  If you have one that works in another program that you can print from, you can use any of your programs that you can print from and a free program that prints to svg or pdf like PDFCreator here.  http://www.pdfforge.org/pdfcreator

One word of caution about fonts...if you install too many it will slow down your computer.  Two other options available for XP are to simply open the font and then the program where you want to use it, or use a font manager like The Font Thing or NexusFont.

Font Thing here  http://members.ozemail.com.au/~scef/tft.html
NexusFont  http://xiles.net/downloads/#NexusFont
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Heather
http://imagesbyheatherm.wordpress.com/
Mac OSX, Inkscape, eClips, Silhouette Cameo

Offline Debbiedw

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2010, 06:51:05 PM »
Thank you. I will try these ideas.
Debbie
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline GillT

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2011, 02:56:56 AM »
Thank you all for this discussion which poses and answers my own question!!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Gill

Using Win7 :: new user of Craft Robo :: Robomaster :: Inkscape 0.48
Blog:  http://elegantsufficiency.squarespace.com

Offline HeatherM

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Country: 00
    • http://imagesbyheatherm.wordpress.com/
Re: How do you import Fonts and Dingbats into ickscape?
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2011, 03:17:46 PM »
Another thing to consider is how many fonts you are installing.  Too many fonts can slow down your computer/programs and cause problems.  When I had XP I kept my extra fonts in a separate folder, then when I wanted to use one I just opened the font then the program that I wanted to use it in.  Now that I have Windows 7 that doesn't work anymore and I use a font manager.  Love that I can type what I want in the font manager and see what it looks like in all of my fonts.  HTH
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Heather
http://imagesbyheatherm.wordpress.com/
Mac OSX, Inkscape, eClips, Silhouette Cameo