• September 18, 2019, 12:36:15 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

The Future of this Forum:

The Inkscape Project opened its first official forum on its website this month (August 2019). https://inkscape.org/forums/ In an effort to combine all the different forums into one, this forum will no longer be accepting new members or new messages. However, it will remain open for a little while, for existing members, to have access to their contents, if they need them.

Any potential new members should register on the new forum, and post their message there. There is a special board for questions about using Inkscape for cutting machines (of all kinds). (https://inkscape.org/forums/cutplot/)

If you have any questions or comments (and you're an existing member) you can post them here.

Although I've been planning to put this forum in read-only mode, at the time of this transition, unfortunately, my personal circumstances have changed, and I won't be able to host this forum much longer. I'm not sure about the time frame. It could be as soon as the end of 2019, or as long as a year from now. If anyone is interested in taking it over, please contact me.

-- brynn


Author Topic: Cut from Inkscape-Craft Robo/original Silhouette (not Cameo)  (Read 43758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2010, 02:07:40 PM »
Quote from: chrisparkle
And now Inkscape won't load any recent documents and it won't paste any designs onto the page.  :? 

What is going on :x

Chris


Ok Chris

Calm Calm, Have a look at this thread here and hopefully it will help sort your problems:  http://www.inkscapecuttingdesign.com/smf/index.php?topic=251.0

If not HOLLER........We will get you cutting from Inkscape......
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 11:17:56 PM by brynn »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2010, 09:05:28 AM »
Hi Angela,  Gone through your tutorial, several times  and checked and double checked and still my Silhouette will not cut   :(  :(

The only difference is my design is not colour filled but I am removing fill and stroke black.  I have ensured that within preferences, my cutting setting is black.

Helllllppppppp 8-)

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #27 on: November 25, 2010, 10:13:36 AM »
Hi Chris, are you saying your outline on your signblank is not showing?  If so, select the design and at the bottom of the screen click on the pencil.  If you have no colour in the box select modify and choose black from the colour swatches.

Also check you have no failed prints sitting in the Graphtec Printer.  If you have, delete them as they can stop later prints from working.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #28 on: November 25, 2010, 10:31:13 AM »
Here is a screenshot of what I am trying to do.  This is only practice ;)

 I have a design outline it just won't cut for me. :roll:

I had already adjusted to cutting settings to black and have got no print failures.

Thanks for trying to guide me Technomum :)

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #29 on: November 25, 2010, 11:55:13 AM »
Hi Chris.  What we need to know is what your Robomaster "screens" looks like as you proceed through the tutorial.  As far as I can tell the outline is fine in Inkscape but we need to know what it is doing when it gets into Robomaster which I am sure is where the problem lies.  If it is at all possible could you do corresponding print screens for each stage as you work through Angela's tutorial.  I know that is a lot to ask but I cannot think of an easier way to check everything.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #30 on: November 25, 2010, 01:01:35 PM »
Hi Technomum,  The design I screenshot was done via my word processor and then copied and pasted into Inkscape.  I will do a design from Robo but I have trouble getting from Robo to Inkscape.  I will have a fiddle and get back to you soon with more info.

Thanks very much,  Very much appreciated.

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #31 on: November 25, 2010, 01:23:03 PM »
Hello Chris,

Which OS are you using XP, Vista Windows 7?  It is possible to do screen shots in all three, the later OS allow for partial screenshots too.  If you don't want to use those could I suggest the free version of Screenhunter that will allow you to select part or all of the screen (though in this case all of the screen would be beneficial).  It will save to your Desktop as a jpg and can be attached to most forums.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #32 on: November 25, 2010, 01:38:33 PM »
Hi Chris,

All you need to do is put your design into RoboMaster - am I right in thinking you are not having trouble getting your file from Inkscape into RoboMaster?  Then do a screen print of the RoboMaster pages as you work through the tutorial.  Unless you have a very old operating system you should be able to take a screen print as follows.  Failing that try downloading one of the free Print Screen Programmes such as Screenhunter (free version) which will save all or a selected area of your screen to your desktop as a jpeg.

Here are some instructions that might help with different Windows Operating Systems

Link for instructions on how to do a screenprint in Windows XP    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/usin ... nshot.mspx

Link for instructions for Vista  http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... reen-shots

Link for instructions for Windows 7  http://www.microsoft.com/windows/window ... -tool.aspx

Good Luck
« Last Edit: November 25, 2010, 02:02:32 PM by Technomum »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #33 on: November 25, 2010, 02:01:19 PM »
Ok Technomum
I can see you have everything under control, so I will leave this to you; if you need assistance let me know.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #34 on: November 25, 2010, 02:16:05 PM »
Quote from: "chrisparkle"
Hi Technomum,  The design I screenshot was done via my word processor and then copied and pasted into Inkscape.  I will do a design from Robo but I have trouble getting from Robo to Inkscape.  I will have a fiddle and get back to you soon with more info.

Thanks very much,  Very much appreciated.

Chris


Hi Chris

Are you saying that you did the design in WORD then copied and paste into Inkscape??
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #35 on: November 25, 2010, 03:09:08 PM »
I have Open Office, made the design and tried to c & p to Inkscape.

OS is Vista.  I have a free programme called MWSnap that does screenshots for me.  I loaded the above picture into Photobucket and then downloaded to here.  I will look at the links you have given me. :) I suppose they are easier :roll:

The problem I am having (apart from my machine not cutting) is getting designs from my Silhouette software to Inkscape.  Also designs I have saved within Inkscape are not coming up on screen when I select them.  This is the message I get: 'Failed to load the requested file C:UsersChrisparkleThank you dxf'  However, since your message I made a quick design with stars, within Inkscape and blow me down, it cut it. :o

So my issues are are:

not being able to paste designs to Inkscape from Silhouette
documents saved within Inscape not loading
and any designs have I managed to copy and paste from other sources are not cutting

Now you have this info do you still want me to load screens shots from Silhouette/Robo

In the meantime I'll connect to the links you have given me.  :)

Thanks very much

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #36 on: November 25, 2010, 03:35:18 PM »
Hi Chris

I have that Open Office programme as well and I did a quick design using the drawing section and exported it as a PDF into my documents folders so I could find it. Then I opend Inkscape imported the PDF file changed the fill into unfilled and applied a black stroke line, but I think I'm missing a step somewhere because I can't ungroup the shapes.

The Open Office Drawing board is a lot like Inkscape, so why are you not drawing in Inkscape???

Paint Icon.jpg
*Paint Icon.jpg
(1.63 kB . 69x75)
(viewed 296 times)


Hi Chris, Don't you have this icon on your desktop?
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 11:19:20 PM by brynn »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #37 on: November 25, 2010, 03:47:34 PM »
Onlhy had Vista for 3 years and didn't realise I had a screenshot tool  :roll:   However, is there a quick way to get the screen shot to here?

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #38 on: November 25, 2010, 04:04:00 PM »
Quote from: chrisparkle
Onlhy had Vista for 3 years and didn't realise I had a screenshot tool  <!-- s:roll: -->:roll:<!-- s:roll: -->   However, is there a quick way to get the screen shot to here?

Chris


Ok Chris

Look at step7 on this pictorial.

http://www.inkscapecuttingdesign.com/smf/index.php?topic=52.0

I suppose you could draw using your open office programme, then do a screen print and save as a Jpeg and open in Inkscape........
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 11:20:06 PM by brynn »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #39 on: November 25, 2010, 05:19:39 PM »
Could I ask why you would want to move a Silhouette drawing into Inkscape?  Won't it cut as a GSD on your Silhouette cutter?  I would only use Inkscape to design in or open an svg in so that I could cut it on the Silhouette.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #40 on: November 26, 2010, 03:31:32 AM »
Gawd, I'm getting really confused now.  

Here we go. ;)   I was asking originally via the silouetteusers site how I get designs from Inkscape to RM to cut out.  I was then told I don't need to do this because I can do it straight from Inkscape, hence me being here.

However, the drawing tools within silhouette are too basis and I can't get curves, in text, hence me asking how to transfer to Inkscape to use the tools there. That's my excuse :D  :D

But I still can't cut out what I have designed/saved in Inkscape and anything I do c & p, whether from an OO document or screenshot will not paste.  

In the meantime, I will study what Angela has said and try the pdf format. Angela, to be quite honest, I have never used the drawing document within OO. It looks too complicated  :roll:   I find a can do basic shapes within the word processor.  I don't really understand about putting my design in 'paint'  I think I'll have study things a bit more.

Do you know what, I am so grateful to you both for your patience with a numpty like me.  I hope you don't give up on me before we've sussed things out. :?

Chris
« Last Edit: November 26, 2010, 03:45:38 AM by chrisparkle »

Offline Angel13

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: 00
    • http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #41 on: November 26, 2010, 03:39:32 AM »
Hi Chris

You are not a 'numpty' we will work this out between us and get you designing and cutting from Inkscape using your silhouette.

I'm at work at the moment but I just felt I had to give you a quick answer, until later.

Ta ta for now......
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://cardsulike.blogspot.com/
http://www.craftsuprint.com/default.cfm?designer=379

Windows Vista, Silhouette Cutter same as Craft Robo(Mini Expert) Cameo Beginner, Inkscape, Cougar(Learning curb going on!!)

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #42 on: November 26, 2010, 03:47:36 AM »
Aww, Thanks Angela.  Speak soon but no hurry.  I'm just playing and want to experiment with a project I'll be doing in the Summer.

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #43 on: November 26, 2010, 04:31:05 AM »
Hi Chris, you are not a numpty.  We all have to start somewhere.  I remember throwing my hands up in disgust when I first started using RoboMaster software on my Silhouette.  It is very restrictive until one works out a way round a problem.  My husband had bought the machine for my birthday and I was so pleased and then so disappointed it almost reduced me to tears.

So, if I am reading you right - you find the software on your Silhouette (called RoboMaster) not providing you with the tools to do what you want with your designs.  Mostly there are ways round problems but they can be time consuming and it is a case of learning the peculiarities of the software.  

You don't yet feel you are able to make your design in Inkscape alone.

You are trying to import your GSD into Inkscape to do more work on it - which unfortunately is not as simple as it sounds unless you take a screenshot of the design, save it as a jpg, import it into Inkscape and do a trace (either manually or by using the Path>Bitmap trace option).

There is a possibility of doing it by making your robomaster file into a pdf file.  Angela and I will look into that.

It sounds as though your Silhouette is working properly because it will cut a simple design for you.

Angela's tutorial is geared to importing an already drawn svg into RoboMaster, not the other way round.  That, I think, is why you are having trouble.

Do you have an svg file that you could use to eventually open in RM on your Silhouette using Angela's tutorial?  If not, download one from the freebies on this site and then redo Angela's tutorial.  Choose something simple to start with. The file will need to be opened in Inkscape and then follow the instructions carefully. Do not try to open it straight into RM as it won't work.   As an experienced cutter I scanned the tutorial and did miss a point but when I slowed down and worked through the tutorial point-by-point it worked a treat.

Recommendation:  Go through Carolyn's tutorials and start to learn Inkscape. Start at the bottom of her list as I think, from memory, they are the easiest.  You will never regret it.  It is a bit of a learning curve to start with but there is nothing you cannot do in the software.

Always ask if you have a problem.  We are only too pleased to help if we can.

Chris,  you are in the UK I know.  If you would like me to call you and talk you through the procedure I am happy to do so.  Send me your number through the PM system if you would like to talk to me and I will do my best to get you cutting.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #44 on: November 26, 2010, 04:53:08 AM »
Hi Chris,

I have just successfully exported a GSD file from RoboMaster as a pdf file into Inkscape, worked on it and saved it as an svg and reimported it into RoboMaster with Angela's tutorial.  I will write up the steps and you can see if you like the procedure.  It does mean you will need a program on your computer that will make pdf's.  If you do not have Adobe I think it is possible to download a free pdf maker from the net.  I will see if I can find it for you.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #45 on: November 26, 2010, 05:08:41 AM »
Blimey, how nice of you Techie.  I will pm you with my details but can any phone calls wait til Monday after 10am, if that's convenient for you. I will have a house full later today and over the weekend but I know I have nothing to restrict me on Monday, except housework.  But that can wait  ;)   That will be so cool.  I will then be able to explain the problems better.  I can phone you back if you like  :)

At the moment I am downloading Inkscape .48.  I had .46 loaded from 18 months ago :roll:   Do you think that might make a difference :?:

I will fiddle about as much as I can over the weekend but won't post any questions or frustrated posts.  I'll wait and speak to you Techie. :)

I read in another post that Angela was going to make her mat sticky.  How is this done Angela?

Thank you so much

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #46 on: November 26, 2010, 05:09:27 AM »
I have a PDF programme within Open Office, Techie,  Thanks very much

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #47 on: November 26, 2010, 05:30:12 AM »
Chris,  I think there are still some bugs in .48 and, as yet, I haven't downloaded it.  I am using .47.  We can try .48 as I am sure it must be very similar and see how we get on.

I will ring you after 10AM on Monday.  I hope I remember :lol:.  I will put a sticky on my monitor.  As long as the call is not over an hour all my calls are free (well not exactly but we choose to pay a fixed fee that covers all UK calls other than "special" numbers) so don't worry about calling me back.

I have written a mini tutorial on how to use the pdf method which I will now type up and post here so you can have a look at it.   This will allow you to take your GSD, save it to a pdf file, open it in Inkscape where you can work on it and save it as an svg which you can then reimport into your Silhouette to cut it.  Good that you already have pdf.  I have Adobe but I downloaded the free CutePDFwriter just to check it works and it does.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM

Offline chrisparkle

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #48 on: November 26, 2010, 05:39:43 AM »
Funny you should say that about .48 because I've had another go and now my machine just makes a click sound for 1 second, no cutting and that's it.  Before it was making a loud racket for about 3 seconds but not cutting.  Do you think the bugs are the cause.  

I use CutePDFwriter to download tutorials from the net and save onto my computer ;-)

Chris
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Technomum

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Cutting from Inkscape using your Craft Robo or Silhouett
« Reply #49 on: November 26, 2010, 05:44:16 AM »
As I know Angela is at work I will butt in and say I use 3M repositionable Spray Mount.  The cheapest I can find in the UK is from the 7-Day Shop where there is no p&p to pay.  This is the link.   I know it looks expensive but it lasts forever, well nearly.  Here is the link.  I am sure there must be other products but I am more than happy with 3M.  Angela may use something different and other members may be able to help here.

http://www.7dayshop.com/catalog/product ... ducts_id=1


PS No I don't think .48 will be causing the problem.  I think it is more likely your cutter is not talking to the software design program  :D .
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
Cardmaking, Scrapbooking,
Inkscape, KNK, Funtime, RM