• October 21, 2018, 09:38:58 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Laser Cut File  (Read 4716 times)

Offline SammyT

• Sr. Newbie
Laser Cut File
« on: September 28, 2015, 05:54:40 AM »
Hello All,

I am new here, so please bear with me

I have a svg file of layers of a NYC map.  I wish to combine these layers into 1 layer, make all the same colour, and show only the outline of the map so I can laser cut the outlined lines from black paper.  I do not want to engrave, I want to cut the outline. to leave something like that shown in the link below!

Have tried the workflows here:
http://forum.darklylabs.com/index.php?p=/discussion/294/lasercut-map

But with no success - basically, it tells me they are not paths and therefore refuses to process any further. I am new to inkscape but generally comfortable with IT

I attach the file which i need to get into dxf format with the outer lines.\i would appreciate any advise as to where I am going astray.

If you can show me how to process the file, I’d happily laser cut a map for you and stick in the post!

Thanks
Sammy

Offline brynn

• Administrator
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Laser Cut File
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 07:07:52 AM »
Welcome (again) :D

Hhmm....well very approximately, there are around 250 layers -- the most I've ever seen in an SVG file!

I looked at the page you referenced and found some brief instructions.  But I didn't peruse the whole page, so I'm not sure what I saw is what you want to do.  It said to save the map as PNG.  I think it mentioned using GIMP, but Inkscape can do it.  And then use Inkscape's Trace Bitmap feature, to convert everything to paths.