• January 22, 2019, 02:21:21 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Save As DXF \ Open in SS V3 - objects not grouped as one unit  (Read 5306 times)

Offline sewmorebag

• Sr. Newbie
Newbie here using Inkscape to create cut files in Silhouette Studio V3 (with designer & professional editions).  Not having too much problem with SVGs, EPS, and PDF versions opening in SS V3.  In the event I ever sell cut files, I want to be able to provide DXF options too and want to make sure they are correctly converted and of the highest qualify for usage.   

I brought in a black and white version, doctored in windows paint, and then traced in Inkscape (current version).
I used path--> object to path
then saved as plain SVG, and also saved as DXF (robo option in the DXF settings).
The other file types open as one selected object.

When I open the DXF versions in SS V3, my  paw pads are not grouped with the paw outline (see pic after I dragged the group upwards to desired location on the cut mat). 
Just for the sake of troubleshooing, in SS V3 I tried to group with the compound paths, but they are still separate.  However, it is still my preference to have DXF versions saved in Inkscape and opened in SS V3 of the same quality as the SVG's.

Maybe this is acceptable and expected with anyone opening a DXF file? 
I'm trying to use Inkscape with Silhouette after too many problems tracing and savingin Adobe Illustrator CS6 (which I do not know very well either). 

I've tried also played with the union, combine options under the Inscape Path menu. 

Also attached is the SVG that is ok, it will not allow me to post the DXF version. 

TIA, Beth

Offline brynn

• Administrator
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Save As DXF \ Open in SS V3 - objects not grouped as one unit
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2016, 06:56:29 PM »