• October 19, 2018, 02:50:05 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: uploading svg files to cricut design space  (Read 5877 times)

Offline libcw

uploading svg files to cricut design space
« on: June 24, 2016, 04:07:15 PM »
Hello, I'm a newbie and so glad for this forum!
Since downloading Inkscape I am having difficulty uploading svg files that I have downloaded to my computer into a cutting program - Cricut Design space. Also, I noticed that Inkscape is automatically recognizing the files I have downloaded and taking the svg files that are multi layer and separating the layers into separate files. I am using Windows 7 and the Inkscape I recently downloaded I .91. I would like to be able to change the settings in Inkscape so that it lies dormant until I actually open a file in it to work with. Here is a pic of a file of something I recently downloaded that has multilayers.
Thank you for any help that you offer!

Offline brynn

• Administrator
    • Inkscape Community
Re: uploading svg files to cricut design space
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2016, 07:16:12 PM »
 :w1:

Hhmm, I've never heard of Inkscape doing that.  In fact, I would say Inkscape is not even capable of that.  (Actually, there have been a lot of feature requests, for Inkscape to be able to separate layers into separate files.  I think there might be an extension that will do it. But it's not natively possible yet.) 

So, Inkscape doesn't know what you've downloaded.  Inkscape only knows what file you specifically ask it to open, either by using the File menu (Open, or Open Recent); or if you've set Inkscape to be your native program for handling SVG files, you can double-click on a file and Inkscape will open it.  But Inkscape can only open 1 file at a time, and it has no idea what you might have downloaded.  There's just no connection there.