• March 19, 2019, 11:48:52 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Dxf files reduce measurments  (Read 2813 times)

Offline Tramdriver

• Sr. Newbie
Dxf files reduce measurments
« on: March 10, 2017, 11:58:43 AM »
Hi
 :help:I am very new to all this :help:, and I don´t own any cutting equipment, but I  have a lasercutter who can do the job for me at some very affordable prices. Now my problem is that the DXF files I create, doesn´t keep the measurments I have specified. My latest try, is a very basic shape 586,7mm x 97,8mm. I have drawn it in OpenOffice Draw and exported it as a SVG file. Then I imported it into  Inkscape. No problem there. All measurments are intact.
Then I save it as a DXF file. And when I try to upload this drawing on the lasercutters website. Suddenly  my drawing is redused with 50% and sometimes more. I get very frustrated about all this
 :beg: Please Help :beg:

Goran
HALMSTAD/Sweden

Offline brynn

• Administrator
    • Inkscape Community
Re: Dxf files reduce measurments
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2017, 11:52:34 AM »
Welcome Goran!

Ok, just to confirm a few facts.  This is not something new, which was working properly before, right?  This is your first experience saving as DXF in Inkscape, correct?  Have you ever used Inkscape before this, for something else?

What is the website where you're uploading the DXF files?   Have you ever used this website before when it was working as you expect? 

Also, what is your Inkscape version and operating system where you're using Inkscape?

After you save the file as DXF, can you open it in Inkscape, and make sure the sizes are all still the same?  They should be, but it's good to check at every step, to find out where the problem starts.