• June 26, 2019, 04:50:16 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

The Future of this Forum:

The Inkscape Project will open its first official forum, on the Inkscape website, this August (2019). (Address/link will be provided at that time.) When that happens, new registrations will no longer be allowed in this forum and Inkscape support will be provided in the new forum. This forum will still be open for a while, so that existing topics can be finished, and existing users can have access to their contents. But all potential new members should register on the Inkscape website, and post their questions in the new forum, starting in August. If you have any questions or comments, you can post them here.

Since there haven't been any new messages for so long, and no one has ever replied to this message of mine I'm considering closing this forum entirely, in approx 6 months. If anyone has any comments about that, please feel free to post them.

-- brynn


Author Topic: MTC and elements not showing on imported svg  (Read 3606 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline beeshive

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: 00
    • http://www.svgsbybee.com
MTC and elements not showing on imported svg
« on: September 10, 2011, 01:36:22 AM »
Ok so this is bizarre, I've always assumed that svg's from inkscape work fine on mtc, but a little witch hat with cut out stars is not displaying the cut outs. It just shows a solid hat. So why...what am I missing in inkscape, I've always used my layers and they are all intact...here is a link to the actual file.
http://www.svgbybee.com/freebees.html. But get this copy and paste it shows up...
« Last Edit: August 29, 2015, 07:24:02 AM by brynn »
http://www.svgsbybee.com
http://beeshiveofdrama.blogspot.com
windows7, SCAL2, Inkscape (I've no clue what the version# is...remember it's ME we're talking about!)

Offline Aussie Carolyn

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,025
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Female
    • Cut Two Pieces
Re: MTC and elements not showing on imported svg
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 02:03:05 AM »
I just happened to visit the MTC site this morning and someone else asked the same question.
Your answer can be found on this post over on the MTC forum http://forum.make-the-cut.com/discussio ... pe-and-mtc I made a note of the instructions myself so I could also make sure any of my SVG files will work for MTC owners.

Another thing you may find useful to know, when using layers do not place items in the root layer. Anyone using Sign Cut may have problems as Sign Cut does not always play nicely with objects in the root layer.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline beeshive

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: 00
    • http://www.svgsbybee.com
Re: MTC and elements not showing on imported svg
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2011, 10:41:41 AM »
Thank you Carolyn- You always come to my rescue :D
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://www.svgsbybee.com
http://beeshiveofdrama.blogspot.com
windows7, SCAL2, Inkscape (I've no clue what the version# is...remember it's ME we're talking about!)

Offline beeshive

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: 00
    • http://www.svgsbybee.com
Re: MTC and elements not showing on imported svg
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2011, 10:52:10 AM »
hmmm still not working....I will have to post there on that forum.
When you say root layer you mean the base layer- the original layer when you open a new file right?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://www.svgsbybee.com
http://beeshiveofdrama.blogspot.com
windows7, SCAL2, Inkscape (I've no clue what the version# is...remember it's ME we're talking about!)

Offline Aussie Carolyn

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,025
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Female
    • Cut Two Pieces
Re: MTC and elements not showing on imported svg
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 05:33:05 PM »
Hi Belinda, the layer is labelled root. See screenshot below.
Whenever I open Inkscape my layer is always Layer 1 but some files I download from websites have a layer - root.

rl.JPG
*rl.JPG
(24.29 kB . 655x179)
(viewed 211 times)


Don't ask me why or how as I don't know the answer. I suspect the root layer happens when files are created in another program such as Illustrator and imported into Inkscape. Then again it could be from designers using an older version of Inkscape.

All I know is files in the root layer often misbehave when trying to cut using Sign Cut. Many Black Cat machine owners use Inkscape with Sign Cut and if you are selling files they may have problems if you happened to have objects on the root layer. I don't think I have seen a root layer on any of your freebies but I just wanted to let you know in case you find this happening. Just create a new layer and move all objects from the root layer.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2015, 04:09:45 AM by brynn »

Offline beeshive

  • Original Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: 00
    • http://www.svgsbybee.com
Re: MTC and elements not showing on imported svg
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2011, 05:40:05 PM »
I see! I can't believe I understand but I do!
Oh fyi I figured out what I did wrong earlier- it works :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Guest »
http://www.svgsbybee.com
http://beeshiveofdrama.blogspot.com
windows7, SCAL2, Inkscape (I've no clue what the version# is...remember it's ME we're talking about!)